Police brutality

I don’t even know how to start this post. So I think I will start somewhere entirely different from what I want to blog about.

I have been hospitalized for 4 days over the weekend and as usual it was a hairy experience with people who more or less tried to kill me. In fact, it is so heart wrenching that I don’t want to talk about the details of it. All I want to say is that hospitals are probably the most dangerous places on Earth. And the risk of infection is the least of one’s worries when going to the hospital; the really insidious thing to a patient is the lackadaisical attitude and the carelessness of the staff that seems to be the norm rather than the exception. So I mean it in all too much seriousness when I say, I got out of there alive.

Meanwhile out in the world, or just a few kilometers from where I was lodging at the ‘worst hotel in town,’ another cripple was stripped of all his humanity by those who are supposed to serve and protect (I will refrain from uttering an opinion on what they ‘serve and protect’ these days, but it is certainly not the citizens of the country.)

In short, a man is tipped out of his wheelchair by a police officer without any reason. The officer is making an arrest of another man who apparently is a friend of the man in the wheelchair. This prompts the latter to yell at the two officers and ask where they are taking his friend interspersed with a few words from the more colorful territory of the language. One of the cops approaches him, grabs his shoulder and says “Don’t grab me” (sic) while he topples him sideways out of his chair, then he repeats his ridiculous demand, “don’t grab me, do you understand?” the man replies that he is just asking (a question) and the cop tells him he has no right to ask any questions whatsoever. The cop stands over him and yells into his face while the other cop puts the wheelchair back up. After a while they leave the scene with the man still lying on the ground unable to get back up.

A recording of the incident can be seen here: Go to 1:00 where the assault takes place. This is just one of several movies of the incident.

There are also at least 3 witnesses who consistently confirm the story, one of them who was only a few feet away saying: “I have lived in this neighborhood and seen a lot over the years. But I have never seen an officer losing his composure in a situation where everyone is calm and there is no danger at all.”

To any civilized individual this is an open and shut case. It’s a textbook example of abuse of power and police brutality. That is until one reads the paper and finds out that it is not.

No, according to the head of the police union, Claus Oxfeldt (I feel the need to mention his name only because of his complete lack of a sense of reality,) it is apparently an accident, “because the officer did not push him but held onto him all the way down.”

So it’s ok to completely incapacitate a cripple and leave him helpless on the ground on a cold evening without any way to get up and move around as long as it’s done carefully. That apparently is the conclusion the Danish authorities come to after having investigated themselves.

This is why I had no idea how to start this post. What does one say to such moronic behavior? (I have no other word for certain members of the Danish Police Force at this moment, and even then it’s an insult to morons)

I have nothing to compare it to. So I think I will ask what the officers and Claus Oxfeldt would feel like if someone came and deliberately incapacitated their legs and left them on the ground only to read in the papers the next day that it was an accident and there was no need for investigation or prosecution.

Their words and actions tells me that they would find such an act perfectly all right since that is what they did to this man. So how about rounding up Claus Oxfeldt and his colleagues, equip them with a pair of cement shoes and leave them overnight on the street all the while doing it gently while yelling into their faces that they should leave us alone.

It can only make one wonder if they might change their minds. Meanwhile we would be able to call it an accident and forget about it.

I have not even tried to go into the human rights aspect of this case. I honestly don’t have the energy for it after my hospitalization. And also, this case is so far beyond civilized human conduct that the even the dimmest of minds can see the idiocy in it. Except for Claus Oxfeldt and his cronies, of course. But then again they are excused because they have never tried the cement shoe exercise. So I guess it is only natural they don’t understand what it feels like to be left on the street completely incapacitated and stripped of all your humanity, like some vermin left to rot.

The really sad thing about this, though, is that they are still supposed to be the ones to protect and serve – even cripples. But apparently that is too tall an order for them. Poor things.

One thought on “Police brutality

Leave a Reply

